Iowa EDA University Center Targeted Communities

Iowa has nine metropolitan areas composed of twenty-one Iowa counties and eleven out-of-state counties. The nine metro areas are: Ames, Cedar Rapids, Davenport-Moline-Rock Island, Des Moines-West Des Moines, Dubuque, Iowa City, Omaha-Council Bluffs, Sioux City, and Waterloo-Cedar Falls.

Iowa Metroes.Ref: ISU Iowa Community Indicators Program (ICIP)

There are 35 Iowa communities with populations between 5,000 and 25,000 that are within 45 miles of one of these metro centers. The communities are shown below.

Iowa Small Cities.

Prospective iWin Communities

Anamosa Indianola Pella
Atlantic Iowa Falls Perry
Boone Knoxville Red Oak
Charles City Le Mars Sheldon
Cherokee Manchester Shenandoah
Creston Maquoketa Sioux Center
De Witt Mount Pleasant Vinton
Decorah Muscatine Washington
Glenwood Nevada Waverly
Grinnell Newton Webster City
Harlan Oelwein Winterset
Independence Orange City

Here are the Preliminary Economic analyses on these communities.

CIRAS staff will be closely working with nearly one-third of these communities over the five-year span of the Iowa EDA University Center program (2018-2023).