Seal of the Economic Development Administration.

DoC/EDA University Center

The Economic Development Administration

The Economic Development Administration (EDA) was established in 1965 under the Department of Commerce to generate jobs, help retain existing jobs, and stimulate industrial and commercial growth in economically distressed areas of the United States. The mission of EDA is to lead the federal economic development agenda by promoting innovation and competitiveness, preparing American regions for growth and success in the worldwide economy.

Iowa Association of Regional Councils

One mechanism the EDA uses to connect to local constituents is through sponsoring groups called Councils of Government (COGs). Iowa is divided into 16 regions, each of which has a COG. COGs are formed by counties, cities, and towns to serve local governments and citizens across the State of Iowa. Councils address issues facing local government on a cooperative basis and provide coordination of services delivery, planning, advocacy, technical assistance, and project development in areas such as community development, transportation, housing, land use, solid waste, and natural resources. You can find information about the COG for your region on this map of COGs in Iowa. Each region is linked to the COG's website or their contact information.

The University Center Program

In 1966, EDA began offering grants to institutions of higher education to improve the economies and economic development capacity of their service areas with emphasis on economically distressed communities. Economically distressed areas are defined as communities that experience substantial barriers that inhibit the growth of their local economies and limit their ability to compete effectively in regional, national, and global markets.

Iowa University Center

The Iowa EDA University Center has operated within the Center for Industrial Research and Service (CIRAS) since the program began at Iowa State University in 1980. In 2010, CIRAS was awarded a 3-year grant under the University Center program to develop and implement the Sustainable Economies Program in the state of Iowa.

The Sustainable Economies Program will work with five Regional Trade Centers in Iowa to integrate detailed economic studies with financial, social and environmental technical assistance to communities and businesses in rural trade centers across Iowa. This integrated, scientific-based approach to sustainability and the triple bottom line will allow the businesses, communities, and the overall regional economy to begin the process of reliable, long-term growth.

About the CIRAS EDA University Center Program

CIRAS EDA University Center FY2010 Annual Report (6/30/2011)

CIRAS EDA University Center FY2011 Annual Report (6/30/2012)

CIRAS EDA University Center Final Report (6/30/2013)

Carroll Regional Trade Center Triple Bottom Line Evaluation (8/2011)

Lee County Regional Trade Center Triple Bottom Line Evaluation (2/2012)

Appanoose County Regional Trade Center Triple Bottom Line Evaluation (7/2012)

Cerro Gordo County Regional Trade Center Triple Bottom Line Evaluation (11/2012)

For more information, contact:

Mike O'Donnell, EDA University Center Program Director
Iowa State University
2272 Howe Hall, Suite 2620
Ames, IA 50011-2272
Phone: 515-294-1588
Fax: 515-598-7739


Last updated: 2/26/2014